If you measure accomplish…

If you measure accomplishment by time, there’s no incentive to go harder. Gunnar Peterson

Originally given as exercise advice, I find this applies appropriately to the rest of our activities as well. Recently, I’ve done a lot of soul searching, and I am by no means done soul searching (in fact, I don’t think I’ll ever be done) but during this time, I’ve often vacillated between comparing myself against the vast and combined accomplishments of my classmates and all the accomplishments I think I should’ve completed before the ripe old age of 22 and a half.

In these moments of despair and utter conviction that I will no doubt fulfill my life’s purpose as a societal failure (dramatic, I know), I have to remind myself of this sentiment – that it’s not about the time that passes but what I’ve done. This is a scary thought because time is such a generic and dependable metric– yet to measure time would be to take the easy way out.

Instead, (and I am still learning to adopt this), timelessness is the new incentive to push harder.

Leave a Reply

