Still chasing

Lately, I’ve been trying to get back to a healthy place where I’m happy with my body. Last year, I went through an intense phase of working out and eating clean but that obsession ultimately became an unhealthy focus in my life. Since then, I’ve volleyed between that level of obsession and a relative level of disregard for my body. Now that summer is here and I am finally feeling warmth in my bones, I have no more excuses. It’s time to get back on track. In trying to cement this potentially fleeting resolve to return some semblance of health to my life, I’ve poured over countless fitblrs and before-and-after pictures of fellow journeywomen, awakening both a jealousy and a sense of urgency to follow in their footsteps and I can already feel myself falling into the same pit of obsession.

In a moment of solitude and reflection, I’m realizing now that I need to focus on drawing inspiration from myself, establishing goals that are true to me, listening to my body and pushing my body to my own limits. Weightloss is a slightly less magnificent goal for me this time around, probably because I’m realizing that I’ll develop far more lasting changes by adopting a less restrictive diet, along with truly understanding my muscles instead of calorie counting with a disturbing fervor.

All this to say, I’m going to be my own inspiration because while other people’s stories can provide the hope, I provide the sweat:

20130611-001425.jpg

20130611-001447.jpg

20130611-001457.jpg

20130611-001506.jpg

Leave a Reply

