yoga me home

Last week, I happened upon a new gym in my neighborhood and I positively went nuts. I’ve been gym hopping these past few months, from NYSC to Equinox to the dinky gym at my apartment complex. I made this last move because $180 a month just wasn’t working out. The downside was that my dinky apartment gym was seriously bad news. It’s taught me that my excitement for working out goes in hand with how excited I am about my environment. It got so bad that I was missing workouts and I didn’t even mind all that much! So I understandably went nuts when I discovered a huge new gym just steps away from my apt. Check this out:

20140402-225357.jpg

And to top it off: my HUGE news-I found a yoga class I actually don’t hate!!

I realize how ridiculous that sounds but it’s a pretty big deal for me. I’m not a big stretcher when I work out and that usually isn’t a problem but when I start running more, I’ve found that my muscles will rebel and pull in weird ways if I don’t stretch. Except I’ve always hated yoga, and I don’t quite know how to stretch on my own so I’m stuck. And I’ve given yoga many many chances. I’ve given a month to bikram, endless class credits to vinyasa and made countless voyages to Yoga to the People. I’ve always left feeling anything but zen and mostly just angry that someone had dripped their gross sweat on my mat. But not today! I ended my hour long class feeling stretchy and 10 times less sore than when I had walked in. Score 1 for yoga! (Finally.)

20140402-224803.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

